The House Phone

As pledges it was your duty to answer the house phone within 3 rings.  Initiated brothers never stooped low enough to answer it. 

So, we regularly tested our pledges for compliance to the 3 ring rule.  My room was on the lower level at the end of a long hall.  The house phone was on the other end of the hall, and up a flight of stairs.  I’d call the house phone from my room.  A pledge would answer.   I’d say in a disquised voice, “I need to talk to Stan Gable immediately!”  The pledge would typically ask, “May I ask whose calling?”.   Answer, “Hell no!  Get off your ass and get Gable for me now!”

Walk down the stairs, run down the hall, knock on my door. 

Me, hiding the phone receiver behind my back, “What the hell do you want?”

Pledge, “Stan, there’s a phone call for you on the house phone.”

Me, “Well who the hell is it?”

Pledge, “They wouldn’t say.”

Me, “Well go find out.”

Run down the hall, up the steps, ask, “Gable needs to know who it is?”

“Goddamit, go get him. It’s an emergency.”

Pledge, “He really needs to know who it is.”

“I don’t have time for this shit, it’s life or death.  Go get him now!”

Run down the stairs, down the hall, knock on my door.

Me, “What?”

Pledge, “They wouldn’t give me a name.  They said it was a life or death emergency.”

Me, “Did they tell you what the emergency was?”

Pledge, ‘No, they just said they needed to talk to you immediately and that it was very urgent.”

Me, “Go find out what the emergency is.”

Run down the hall, up the steps, “Gable needs to know what the emergency is.”

“GO GET THAT MF’ER ON THE PHONE RIGHT F’ING NOW YOU IDIOT!”

Pledge, “But he needs the details…”
“I DONT GIVE A DAMN WHAT HE NEEDS.  I Don’t think you understand the severity of the situaiton.  Go to his room and get him on this f’ing phone.”

Run down the stairs, down the hall, knock on my door……..

 

This loop carried on a number of times until everyone in my room couldn’t contain their laughter. 
Stupid pledges.

~ by Stan Gable on August 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
